Draft problems

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

snuggsman

Dec 14, 2013
Colorado
Hello All, I'm new to this wood stove thing.

My house came with a trashed wood stove (they burned coal in it) in the basement that had an 8inch flue going into a Masonry chimney. 8X13 I believe. Well I purchased a new wood stove but it has a 6 inch flue. Matter of fact all of the stoves in my price range had 6inch flues. So I bought an adapter to go from the existing 8inch to the new stove and now the stove smokes out my basement Yes I put the adapter at the stove..

Now I have about 6" of 6inch pipe and then toThe 8inch which is about a 30"vertical to a 90 and about 10" horizontal into the chimney. The pipe is all single wall.

Yes The chimney was cleaned by a professional. oh and it is a country hearth 2000

Welcome to the forums. How tall is the chimney, does it terminate above the roof peak, and is it exterior or inside the house?

Some stoves with 6" venting don't perform really well when dumping into large flues, particularly basement installs with cold exterior chimneys (negative pressure / stack effect).

Sounds like a liner is needed here. The stove is dumping into a pipe that has 2.5 times the cross-sectional area. That is not good for draft, especially if the chimney is cold or short.

If you want the system to perform the best it can, you'll need to do everything it takes to make the entire flue system from the stove flue collar to daylight 6". Rick

Ditto to the above, and you also prolly have some serious downdraft going on, which will cause the smoke in your basement.