hedge good or bad to burn?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jdscj8

Feb 19, 2009
Eastern,Nebraska
is hedge good or bad to burn i know it don't cut worth a crap really hard. But does it burn good?

Can't beat it. Once you get past the thorns. I have been burning nothing but Hedge for three years now. Dry splits flash on like gasoline, and large rounds burn for hours.
Brad

What does hedge look like? I don't think we have that here in the East. Some kind of thorny tree?

Some people call it Osage Orange, some call it Hedge or Hedge Apple (it's the one that drops those grapefruit sized green balls).

It's fantastic firewood. It's a little slow to season, but it burns for forever in your stove. I had about a quarter of a cord of Osage this winter. I managed to get some crazy long burn cycles out of it.

When you cut it, it's bright orange inside. Overtime, the color fades to a duller yellowish color.

Watch the thorns and the fine sawdust.

-SF

Interesting. I don't think we have those around here. Or, if we do, I've never seen one.

They are common around the great plains and somewhat to the south. I've seen them in the Ohio River Valley and as far east as Eastern PA, but not in New England (although there could be a few around).

Not worth a Darn,,,I`ll come get it!

Osage Orange (hedge) = MBTU`s/cord
32.9 Don`t ovefire the stove my friend! Learn the wood before you let just anyone load-er up!

Thats a long drive ml. Ill be a nice guy and split the gas for half the load of the crappy wood...lol