How do you find a good dealer?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GeeWizMan

Nov 29, 2006
Suburbs west of Detroit
This is my first post as I just registered. I have been burning wood in a wood stove for a little over 10 years and heating 3/4 of our house in the process. I am interested in heating the other 1/4 with wood as well. We have a metal fireplace on the 1/4 side of the house that we want to install a wood insert into. I have been looking at many brands of inserts and have come to realize that many would work for us. I am now thinking that one of the most critical choices regarding this project is picking a good, honest, knowledgeable dealer. How do you determine a good dealer?

gwm

W.O.M. Word of mouth.

Where are you located ?
What are your stove choices so far?
You just want to heat the 1/4 home with the insert or go 1/2 and 1/2 with the house ?
You can get more help per stove choices if you give us your home lay out and information.

specifics be damned....you choose a good dealer by word of mouth. Go to a friend who you know and trust their judgement, who also burns wood, and ask them. Likely they may have ideas. Then go and talk to the dealers. Whats your "gut" feeling? Check them out with the local BBB. Be forewarned here, youre looking for the number of complaints against them.....no record of anything with the BBB is generally a GOOD thing.

I asked people at work about local dealers.