I'm Learn'n Here...How Long to Season Wood in Colorado or a Dry Climate

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

clearsky

Oct 21, 2010
Boulder, CO
No, really, I am learning here. Thanks for all your great questions and answers. Now I have found one of my own to ask. I am new to the ways of wood, first season. Someone told my wife that wood seasons here in Colorado in about three months. Now in all there reading I've done I always see anywhere from 6 months to a year. That would mean that the Colorado dry climate would cut the drying time by half? They were talking about pine when this was said to my wife. So the question is, could this be true? Does other wood dry faster here too? Is there anyone here from Colorado that might confirm this for me.

Thanks everyone...

Three months with small split sizes, will result in burnable wood. this is true. but seasoned, not fully. It still takes about 8 months for my pine to get to ideal status, and that is stacked in full daily sun and wind. you can get fresh cut beetle kill to burn, but it will leave heavy buildup in the flue, and if you cut the air way down it will make your house look like a choo-choo on a cold winter day!!(meaning it will smoke like a muther) Welcome to the forum by the way!!

No heavy buildup in my flue, bout all I burn is beetle kill lodgepole pine. You sure you're not burning some green stuff there Pineburner?

clearsky said: