1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Installing Pellet Stove with Existing Brick Chimney

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Speed Racer, Sep 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Speed Racer

    Speed Racer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    South West NH (Mason)
    Need Help

    I have the stove, built the hearth pad, and can't seem to get a straight answer on installing the vent.

    1. I have an existing brick Chimney this will vent to, originally planned to be a wood stove.


    Can I vent 3' directly into the brick Chimney or do I need a liner.

    Also how do I convert from 3" pipe to 8" Hole and liner (If I need Liner)

    Can't seem to get straight answer from local true value "Selkirk" Dealer...

    ALL GUIDANCE APPRECIATED... Winter's coming

    I have a Napoleon Pellet stove... NOT AN INSERT

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. imacman

    imacman Guest

    From what you said, and looking at the owners manual on the Napolean website (you do have the owners manual, don't you, or did you buy it used and don't have one?), it clearly states that if venting into an existing fireplace flue, a liner must be used....in your case, a 3" liner. You can buy the entire kit online (e-bay, etc).
  3. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,370
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    Controversial subject. Depending on manufacturer, if it's an outside chimney, you need to reline smaller, because of the cooler temps. Center chimney, maybe not, since the flue stays warmer. Vented my St. Croix into a center chimney, went to a local sheet metal shop and had them make an adapter, seems to be fine.
  4. Speed Racer

    Speed Racer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    South West NH (Mason)
    Yes it is a center chimney... ie. Indoor can see the bricks all the way up to the ceiling...

    I was hoping to find something less custom for the adapter...

    Trying to find a sheet metal shop and then having to explain everything to them.... jeesh I can't be the first and only one doing this??
  5. Xena

    Xena Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Loc:
    South Shore MA
    Did you read macmans response?
  6. Speed Racer

    Speed Racer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    South West NH (Mason)
    Yes. I read it... and I have an order with local True Value store for the liner...

    But still no word on when it will arrive..

    been waiting 3 weeks...

    considering my alternatives if I can't get the parts I need
  7. DiggerJim

    DiggerJim Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Loc:
    Northcentral Connecticut
    Switch to Duravent Pro and call Eric at Kinsman Stoves - he's on this forum and can get you Duravent at a reasonable (likely way more reasonable than True Value) price. BTW, you're likely needing to switch to 4" pipe as well - I'd guess from your description that you'll go over the 15' effective length rule for 3" pipe. You can make the adapter yourself - there have been a few threads here from folks who have done that if you do a quick search of the pellet forum.
  8. Speed Racer

    Speed Racer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    South West NH (Mason)
    actually shouldn't need to go to 4" because it is on the second floor and the distance to the top of the chimney is under 15ft.. but I ordered the 4" cause that is the only size Selkirk makes

    I am giving these guys till the end of this week then I will change direction and go duravent
  9. DiggerJim

    DiggerJim Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Loc:
    Northcentral Connecticut
    The 15' is an effective length calculation not a straight measurement of the piping. For instance a Tee counts as 5', a 45 elbow is 3' but vertical pipe counts 1/2 the running length. So it's possible to go longer even though on a running basis you're within 15' (besides, 4" is better for drafting - not such a big deal for a straight out the wall installation but definitely noticeable the more significant your piping installation is).
  10. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Another option is something like this off eBay....they sell 3" ones too.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/4-X-20-Stainless-Steel-Chimney-Liner-Kit-Pellet-Stove_W0QQitemZ290262549701QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item290262549701&_trkparms=39:1|66:2|65:15|240:1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14


    BTW, what is True Value charging for the liner w/ tax, if you don't mind me asking?
  11. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,370
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    So, is it your position that a fireplace flue and a center chimney designed for a wood stove are the same thing? My chimney starts from the cellar floor, tile lined, 8" x 12", 8" terra cotta thimble, have run several central heating appliances at various times over the years. I'm not arguing, here, or being sarcastic, before I get jumped on, again. Notice the "g's"?
  12. Speed Racer

    Speed Racer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    South West NH (Mason)
    Don't know the cost...

    Has been a real time getting that info from anyone...

    and then trying to match the liner kit up into the 8in hole... and pipe to that...

    No one seems to give a straight answer on will the pipe off the Tee match up to the Chimney Vent kit or what part fits in the 8in hole...

    again.. parts should be in this week but I am not holding my breath.. that they will be the right stuff and all connect
  13. imacman

    imacman Guest


    Hoss, no position by me at all......I was simply responding to his original question, which referred to a "existing brick Chimney".....that's all.

    BTW, while you say you don't want to get "jumped on, again", you DO seem to like being argumentative......were you in the Debate Club in High School???
  14. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,370
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    No, macman, no debate club, was asking because a lot of manuals and other sources I've seen are very unclear on this point. I WAS very careful to point out that different manufacturers have different requirements as far as relining goes. My understanding of the Revolution manual was that it was not required for a center chimney.
    Speedracer, be advised that a 4" x 8" Simpson adapter will NOT fit into the 8" thimble in your chimney. O.D. on the adapter is 9.5". I took a piece of the Simpson into the shop, told them I wanted the adapter to fit OUTSIDE the pipe, and 8" OUTSIDE dia. to fit into the thimble. $50. If you want a 4"x 8" Simpson adapter, I've got one you can have for that price. Think I paid $85. But your situation may be different.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page