Miami Beach?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hunker Down

Sep 4, 2014
Long Island
With 6 kiln dried splits and 5 or 6 12" 2x4's and dampered completely down after getting up to almost 700 degrees in about 30 minutes. Our new englander nc 30 turned our home into Miami Beach at 88 degrees.

Is this normal? It was in the low 40's last night and the fire burned from 8pm to 3 am. I did not see any coals at 4:00 am.

I am a complete novice to wood burning. My homes is a semi open ranch, approx 1800 sqft of living space. Built in 1963. The attic is well insulated. The walls not so much. The windows are 2 years old, Anderson hurricane high performance with 1/4 inch glass.

Is this what I should expect every time I run a large load? Is that a large load? It was so warm it became humorous when everyone was stripping down and we were opening the windows and drinking wine in our skivs :)

Any info would be greatly appreciated.