1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Monitoring storage temps

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by hiker88, Oct 16, 2012.

  1. hiker88

    hiker88 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    I've seen in pictures on here that some people have what appear to be battery driven temp probes in their storage tank. What are you all using? Are those weather type probes or something you would get at a cooking store?

    Thanks.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. maple1

    maple1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,236
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    Look for item 251141206586 on Ebay.


    I forget if that is the exact one, but I think it is. I got some of these from those guys (Sure Electronics), they have a few different ones that I spent a lot of time figuring out the difference between. They're still in a box here so can't say how they work, but they were suggested.
  3. JP11

    JP11 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,236
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Do you need battery driven?

    The ones I used took a small 12v source...

    that, and a wired internet connection.. and I can check the boiler from bed. Did it with the ipad last night. pretty slick.

    JP
  4. AroostookDave

    AroostookDave Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Loc:
    Aroostook River Maine
    I use the Taylor Panel Mount Thermometer. There is one near the top of the water and one near the bottom and one up through the floor from the top to the living area...it has a several foot long wire and uses a AAA battery. Seem like I paid under $40 each for them last year when I bought them.
  5. Clarkbug

    Clarkbug Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,051
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    I used the ones from Sure Electronics off of eBay. Wired them up to an old wall-wart transformer with the end cut off of it, works good. Put them in a shallow junction box to hold them. Get the "digital" versions, they have a much tighter tolerance than the others.

    but I am jealous of JP and his ability to see temps without going down to the boiler....
  6. henfruit

    henfruit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    712
    Loc:
    New Hampshire-Maine border
    Look up azel products on line.They offer a nice dual read out unit.
  7. maple1

    maple1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,236
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    Do you have a pic of them mounted? And wondering how you hold them in the junction box? I was going to screw mine thru the back to the same piece of plywood my Dwyer is mounted on, but the back isn't too hefty & isn't mounted that solidly to the body of the guage - it pops off pretty easily. One of the details left to do that is mulling through my head. I've got 6 of them & 12 probes to mount & wire up - have scrounged the transformer.
  8. salecker

    salecker Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Loc:
    Northern Canada
    I got the ones from sure as well,still in the box as well:rolleyes:
    Proritys,Getting moved into the house is still #1 on the list,but somedays i don't get anything done.I need to find a power source and mount them on something.Someone mentioned extending the probe wire,id like to do that and keep them in one area.I got 3 for each tank.2 for my underground lines and 4 for my heat exchanger,probly don't need all those but they were cheep.
    Thomas
  9. jebatty

    jebatty Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,509
    Loc:
    Northern MN
    The 8 meter is the monitoring panel for my Tarm, 7 from Sure with DS18B20 sensors and 1 with a k-type sensor to monitor stack temp. Temps being monitored are Top Storage (actually 1/3 down from top), Middle Storage (actually 2/3 down from top) and Bottom Storage; Boiler Supply; Boiler Return (after Termovar to show return water protection temp); Radiant Supply, Radiant Return; and Stack. All sensers except stack are surface mounted, no wells, secured with aluminum tape and then wrapped with insulation, and all are 12-24vdc supplied from a wall transformer. The box is a standard plastic electrical box, I cut with a jigsaw openings for each meter, and then they snap into place. Wiring is Cat5. The large pressure gauge is a little redundant, but this makes it easy to see pressure, and I like the looks.

    The large box I made up for Deep Portage to monitor its Wood Gun E500, Garn WHS3200, its 4000 gallon storage tank, and supply/return on two main heating circuits. Same meters, same construction.

    FSCN1865.JPG DSCN1887.JPG
  10. maple1

    maple1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,236
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    Those are nice panels Jim - I didn't think I'd be able to get the cutout holes right for mounting, didn't look like a lot to come & go on between the outsides of the guages & the snaps. I'd really like to be able to see all my temps on my computer via our wireless router too someday - or on another internet device when not home. Not a priority right now, but something I'd like to find out about for later.
  11. jebatty

    jebatty Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,509
    Loc:
    Northern MN
    I like the wireless too, but walking into the boiler room and seeing the read-outs without having to look at a computer or phone screen is also pretty cool.
  12. Clarkbug

    Clarkbug Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,051
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    I just bought a J-box cover, and cut it out to fit. There are a few little "wings" on the side that will snap in and hold things to the box cover.

    Attached Files:

  13. hiker88

    hiker88 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    That's beautiful. Do the numbers change color based on their values (above a certain temp turns red for example?)
  14. jebatty

    jebatty Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,509
    Loc:
    Northern MN
    Not that sophisticated! I use red mostly for the hot supply pipes or other pipes that should be hot and blue for cool/return pipes.
  15. maineDIY

    maineDIY Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    southern maine
    JP-11
    Wonder if you could post details of your system that you can see on the internet.
    GG
  16. JP11

    JP11 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,236
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    If you do a search for internet enabled.. you will find the thread. I can only see it when connected to the internet.. in my home. When I am traveling.. I log into my computer at home and look.

    BUT.. the next box up, a hundred bucks or so more, that includes true viewing from anywhere, AND data logging.

    JP
  17. maineDIY

    maineDIY Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    southern maine
  18. maineDIY

    maineDIY Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    southern maine
  19. maineDIY

    maineDIY Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Loc:
    southern maine
    Sorry to be a pain jp11 but I did the search "internet enabled" and no joy. Please just say name of box or internet site for probes, electronics etc.
    Thanks.
    GG
  20. hiker88

    hiker88 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Loc:
    Central Maine
  21. JP11

    JP11 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,236
    Loc:
    Central Maine
  22. Robby

    Robby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Priddis, AB, Canada
    I also have problems figuring out how many BTU,s in the tank. HAve only a probe on top and on bottom. Huge stratification, in the range of 80F - 90F. Of course don't know if 4' or 4" of 180 degree water. Found a place that has magnetic thermocouples, and stick on thermocouples etc. The question? Does a 3/8 thick steel tank outside temperature accurately reflect the inside water temperature. I figure 5 or 6 sensors on outside I would know pretty close the usable BTU,s. Lots of times, after I turn pump on and mix, the average temperature would have allowed me another day.
  23. maple1

    maple1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,236
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    I'm pretty sure it would be fairly accurate. I taped some pieces of pipe insulation over top of my probes.

    Spill the beans on your 'place'. :)
  24. Robby

    Robby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Priddis, AB, Canada
  25. Clarkbug

    Clarkbug Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,051
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    I would agree with Maple. For the kind of accuracy that you need for monitoring storage temps, the steel is just as good as the water temp.

Share This Page