Need help with fireplace, identifying and troubleshooting

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Yzzim

Nov 23, 2013
Minnesota
Hello,

I recently purchased a house that was built in 1977 and has a fairly large fireplace in the basement. I've never used a fireplace before and this past year we had a terrible ice storm come through the area so I have tons (literally!) of wood to burn, but I have no idea what I'm doing!

I'd like to identify the fireplace make/model if possible. There is no information on the fireplace, no nameplate or anything, I've looked everywhere. I've taken some pictures so hopefully that will help. The fireplace door opening is 32"x18" and the doors are 17 1/4" x 19 3/4".

I have done quite a few burns last year in the fireplace and have run into the following issues:

1) I get a lot of smoke coming out of the fireplace when I open the doors. I do get the chimney primed/warmed up with some newspaper and once that starts roaring (can really hear the hot air go up the chimney!) I then start a fire immediately. When I add wood to the fire and just open the doors for a few seconds I immediately get smoke coming into the house. Damper is wide open. This happens the whole time I have a fire going, not sure when I fire start a fire.