New and in need of some clarification

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Nathaniel241

Aug 17, 2017
Fort Morgan, CO
I'm new when it comes to anything wood burning. I have very little experience over my short life. Mostly camp fires, but also a few in fireplaces at the in-law's. My wife and I are building a house in north east Colorado. We are about as far from the mountains as we are from Nebraska. We have a few cold winter months with avg high temps in the 30s around December and January. We've already purchased a ZC fireplace and all the chimney pipe. We are installing a Superior WCT6940 or Astria Montecito Estate, same thing even if its labelled as a WCT6940. I know at least a few of you on here have the Montecito Estate. Hopefully one of you or maybe someone else can help me with a question below.

Here's a bit more info on where I'm at as a 'rookie'. I've been doing research on Hearth.com for a couple of weeks now. I've been learning how to install the chimney, fight creosote build up, sweep the chimney, season wood, build a wood shed, clean the catalytic combustors, pick out wood, and so much more. I'm sure I still have a ton of questions, but one struck me this evening.