1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

New Enviro M55

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by jumpink, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. jumpink

    jumpink Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Loc:
    Northern New Jersey
    I recently bought the Enviro M55 Cast and had it installed yesterday, pictures shown below, yes it did actually happen.
    I noticed a high pitch hum when the auger would turn. It sounds like the motor is straining to turn the auger. I also noticed that after the initial start up phase the flame would die down and would not rise above the burn pot regardless of which button I pressed. The pellets would trickle a few at a time, sometimes none at all. I took j-takeman's advice and emptied the hopper of all the Stove Chow pellets. I examined the auger to see if something was blocking the way, like a forgotten piece of packing material or a manual left behind. There was nothing that I could see. Next I removed the rear panel and examined where the auger connects to the motor. I checked the ring that has the screw in it that tightens the auger to the motor and it was tight. I turned on the stove and watched the auger turn where it connects to the motor, no slippage. The agitator turns about an 1/8th of a turn when the auger kicks on. Not sure what else to do, other than call the dealer and wait for them to come out and service it. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
    [​IMG]
    The white surge protector is only temporary. Big thanks to my brother for making the custom hearth for us.

    Here is a video of the auger turning.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Kevin, first of all, I must say that it's a gorgeous stove, and your brother did an awesome job with the hearth....he should go into business making them!

    Based on what I saw & heard in the video, I see nothing unusual....sounds just like both stoves I've had....the auger doesn't sound like it's straining....it sounds "normal" IMO.

    As for the lack of pellets falling each time the auger turns, that is also normal for a pellet stove....there are some "misses" but shouldn't effect the overall operation.

    As for the lack of "flame", be aware that when you change the heat setting, it does take a while for that to start to show up in the burn pot...it's not instantaneous. On my Englander 10-cpm and my previous Astoria, it sometime takes 10-15 min. for the results to really show up.

    EDIT:

    yes, DO get rid of that computer power strip ASAP...they are next to worthless. You spent good $$ for the stove...get a GOOD surge suppressor.
  3. flynfrfun

    flynfrfun Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Loc:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    I looked at your vid. Looks to me like the auger is turning backwards? If I'm seeing it right, it looks like it would be pushing the pellets into the hopper instead of up the chute. That would definitely explain your problem. I wonder if the auger motor's wires are interchangeable?
    Flynfrfun
  4. imacman

    imacman Guest

    No, the auger is turning correctly. If it was turning backward, he would NEVER get pellets coming out of the chute.
  5. jumpink

    jumpink Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Loc:
    Northern New Jersey
    Thanks, I told my brother the same thing.
    I too wondered if the auger was spinning backwards. I thought the pellets should go up the chute and drop down but I guess I am wrong.
    After listening to the sound again, it sounds more like it's coming from the agitator then the auger.
  6. flynfrfun

    flynfrfun Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Loc:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    Yeah, I thought about that, but it sure looks like it is turning backwards in the vid. Hard to tell from that angle for sure. Either way, the M55 that I listened to didn't make that kind of auger noise. I was able to hear the agitator, but not the auger.
    Flynfrfun
  7. flynfrfun

    flynfrfun Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Loc:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    The agitator motor chain tension is adjustable. Looks to be a simple setup. Maybe the chain is too tight.
    Flynfrfun
  8. save$

    save$ Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,906
    Loc:
    Chelsea Maine
    What a fantastic set up. I am JEALOUS! Cant.'t help you with your problem, but I'm betting there are those on this site that will head you in the right direction. Good luck
  9. jumpink

    jumpink Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Loc:
    Northern New Jersey
    Flynfrfun,
    I think you may be right. I just put my ear to the stove where the chain is located and the sound is the loudest right there.
    I started the stove up again. I put three handfuls into the pot and turned it on. After 5 minutes the flame was great but something shutdown, then the flame went down to almost nothing.
  10. jumpink

    jumpink Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Loc:
    Northern New Jersey
    Save$,
    Thanks, I really appreciate it. My wife is a little upset with the problems we are having so far. She thinks we got a lemon.
  11. jumpink

    jumpink Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Loc:
    Northern New Jersey
    I just checked the agitator chain and it is as tight as can be, no slack whatsoever. Does anyone know where I can find the adjustment for the chain?
  12. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,488
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Hey Kevin,

    That stove is gorgeous and love the hearth pad! I am very jealous!

    You didn't get a lemon its probably something simple. The auger is turning the right way. Try it again with just about 1/4 bag of pellets in the hopper. You may have gotten some bridging?

    It might be the stove is stuck in low fire. If you had the stove in auto or high/ low mod on the control and then set it back to manual. You might need to reset the board by unplugging for a short time. One way to tell if its stuck in low fire mod(same as when the stat has reached temp). Is the cycle time of the auger. It will be about 20 seconds between when the auger turns each time. The auger is only on for 3 seconds. Then off for about 20 seconds.

    When you move to heat range 5 the auger is on for 3 seconds and off for only about 5 seconds. If it stays at 20 seconds off time. You stuck in low fire mod.

    Pete is right about the heat changes, It does take about 5 minutes for the increase to be seen.

    The chain should be tight enough for no slack, But not bind. I run mine a little loose. I let the chain deflect about 1/8 inch or so. If its real tight it will make a noise. Loosen the 4 screws at the agitator motor and lightly tap the motor toward the front of the stove. It only needs to move a little bit. Tighten the 4 screws and check the slack. It may take a bit to get it just right.

    Again you got a beauty of a stove there.
  13. flynfrfun

    flynfrfun Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Loc:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    The only thing I would add to jtakeman's post is that when adjusting the agitator chain tension (after you loosen the 4 motor bolts), there is an adjustment screw that you turn to move the motor forward/back. You might have to loosen/tighten the adjustment screw instead of tapping the motor. It looks like a well engineered setup. One of the reasons why I am considering this unit.

    Also, did you remember to put more pellets in since you had pretty much emptied the hopper to look at the auger? It might take a several handfuls of pellets in the burn pot while the auger gets primed.
    Flynfrfun
  14. jumpink

    jumpink Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Loc:
    Northern New Jersey
    Thanks to everyone for the nice words about our purchase. I am still excited about the stove even though it's been a bumpy first ride.
    I made another video. I started the stove with about 3 good handfuls of pellets to prime it. It started up pretty quickly. I had the stove set to manual on high, with the heat set at 4, the combustion air set at 3 and the feed trim set at 3. Throughout the video you can hear the hum of the auger/agitator turning about every 15 seconds or so. My 3yr old daughter adds some sound effects as well. Two minutes into the video you can see the flame is burning pretty nice. It gradually starts to die down from there. Around the 4:40 mark, there is a click and a blower of some kind goes off. From that point on the flame never comes back on. I have let it run for an hour or so and it pretty much just smolders. I very much appreciate all the feedback from the thoughtful people in this forum.
  15. samandlillie

    samandlillie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Can you operate this stove with the door open?
  16. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,488
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Hey Kevin,

    The switch that has the manual-High/low-Auto/off. Should be set in manual(switch all the way down). There is no manual high.

    Rereading my previous post I stated remove the jumper. Actually doesn't matter if the switch is in manual. But High/low and auto/off. You actually need the jumper of it will go to low fire. I think this is whats happening to yours. Its going to low fire mod right after INITIAL START-UP mod. Thats the click your hearing.

    This is straight out of the manual.

    So I repeat. I am pretty sure you have the stove in High/low and because there is no thermostat hooked to the stove. Once you complete the INITIAL START-UP. It going into low fire mod. Please make sure the switch is all the way down to be in manual mod.
  17. BIGISLANDHIKERS

    BIGISLANDHIKERS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Hard to tell but it sure doesn't look like many pellets are being feed. If it can smolder for an hour without overflowing the pot the pellet feed must be really slow. Sort of like a standby mode?

    BIH
  18. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,488
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    The stove has a low fire mod to just keep a flame and use little amounts of pellets until the stat calls for heat again. I use this in the cold weather to ease the igniter work load. But in the shoulders it still puts out enough heat to raise the house temps. So I use Auto/Off in the shoulders.
  19. jumpink

    jumpink Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Loc:
    Northern New Jersey
    JT,
    Based on what you have just posted, I see that I have the stove in High/low mode not in manual mode. I read the owners manual but now I see that I didn't read it well enough. Looks like the problem may be the nut loose in front of the stove, ME!. When I get home tonight I will put the switch into manual mode and see what happens from there.
  20. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,488
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Kevin,

    I have done it too(LONG STORY). :) Thats the only reason I knew what was happening. been there done that. hehe
  21. ARGlock

    ARGlock Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Loc:
    Arkansas
    There's a lot of "Loose Nuts" running around this Planet Earth!!!! :) Us stove folks aren't excluded. I've been known to have been included in that group from time to time. :)

    Winter Is Coming!!!

    AR
  22. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Jay Takeman to the rescue again!

    I agree with what he said....if you have the stove in Hi/Lo, but have no stat connected, the stove will immediately go into Lo after start-up sequence finishes (the click you hear).....it's looking for a closed contact (stat calling for heat), but is "seeing one" NOT calling for heat (open contact).

    If this solves the problem, I highly recommend getting a programmable stat for the stove, and then run it in Auto/Off mode. A programmable stat makes these stoves so easy & enjoyable to use.

    A good model is a Lux, like Jay & I both have....small, easy to program, and has adjustments to tailor it to your home situation.

    www.amazon.com/Lux-TX1500-Smart-Programmable-Thermostat/dp/B00099HERE
  23. jumpink

    jumpink Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Loc:
    Northern New Jersey
    I was in Lowes and Depot yesterday looking for a wireless programmable t-stat and a black surge protector but they didn't have either. Are the wireless ones worth considering or should I stick to a wired one?
  24. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Many people on the forum have bought the wireless SkyTech 3301p and are very happy. There is minimal wiring, but you must be able to program the remote. However, they run about $100, compared to $35 for the Lux I mentioned above.....but you DO have to run the thermostat wire through floor and up through the wall you mount the stat on.

    www.amazon.com/Skytech-Thermostatic...1?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1288633592&sr=1-1

    EDIT: As for the surge protector, this is the unit I bought, and it has surprisingly good stats for a small unit:

    www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-TRAVELCUBE-1-Outlet-Protector/dp/B00009K79U
  25. smalltown

    smalltown Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Loc:
    Western Maine
    Kevin nice looking install. Great looking stove and I really like the "flame action" your getting. I am sure you will get your issue solved.

Share This Page