1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

New Mt Vernon AE puts out very little heat.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by t5eu9eb7, Feb 24, 2013.

  1. t5eu9eb7

    t5eu9eb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    He did not check much of anything. looked at it. had me take all the C&C pellets out and replace them with the hamers I have. watched it run. plugged into it with his laptop for about 3minutes. Then said its the pellets and to try OMalelys pellets because he has never heard of hamers. I did however at the start of this mess jump the vacuum switch out of the equation.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,087
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Can you take some pictures of the stove running and post them here, there are a good number of AE owners here.

    It sounds like your controller has an issue. That stove on high should run through a pile of pellets in quick order.
  3. t5eu9eb7

    t5eu9eb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Sure. I can do that this weekend. The photos do not come up to well due to the intense light from the fire but maybe you guys can decipher that better. Since I dont live there yet I have not been able to run it while watching to see how fast a bag goes. I might be able to do that this weekend as well. My best guess is when it was "running well" last night in the 2 hours I was there it went through about 6 18oz solo cups worth of pellets. The guess is based off of that I filled up the hopper as much as I could including stuffing them back under the shelf. Before I left I topped it off doing the same thing again.
  4. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,087
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Assuming a lot of things that may not be true, that is only 3and 3/8 pounds per hour that stove can go through a lot more than that.
  5. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

  6. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    964
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    Next time it isn't burning well, try opening a door or window and see if the flame height improves. I suspect that your insert is starved for air. An OAK would fix that.
  7. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,087
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    That is one of the reasons I asked about posting a picture, but something doesn't seem right with that fuel consumption.
  8. t5eu9eb7

    t5eu9eb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    My concern is also the speed at which it is feeding. Regardless of the air in the house I feel like the fire should never almost go out. There is a very loud torrent of air whipping through the fire pot and the flames are very lively.
  9. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    964
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    My insert acts like that when the ash drawer isn't sealed. Sounds like a flame thrower. Normally my Mt Vernon is so quiet that I can hear the pellets hitting the fire pot.
  10. t5eu9eb7

    t5eu9eb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    One of the things I have noticed since it was new is that the ash drawer dose not seem to seal well. the left side locks in ok but the right side dose not. it appears its all cast and there is no front or back adjustment. only an adjustment for tension. is there a way to seal the drawer to test if that helps?
  11. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    964
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    Try paper towel, if there is suction. they will stay in place. Dampening them might make it easier.
    heat seeker likes this.
  12. Kory

    Kory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Loc:
    Naples, ME
    Is your ash pan 100% guaranteed snapped in tight? And gasket in place correctly? how high is the liner length (chimney height)? Can you take a picture of the flame when the unit is hot and running for me? I want to see the height and airflow of what the flame looks like so we can go from their take a few shots if you can please.
  13. Lake Girl

    Lake Girl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,519
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    Have you mentioned the poor fit of ashpan to the dealer? Sounds like any pellet you try will give you grief if the ashpan is a poor fit. Call the dealer back again:(
  14. t5eu9eb7

    t5eu9eb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    The ash pan appears to be seated as well as possible. It is firmly in place. the gasket seems to be in place correctly as well. I however am not real fond of the distance between the pan and the unit its self. I cant change that however since the attachment points on the unit are cast in place. It does appear to seal.

    I have some photos from the last time I was there. They were taken after about an hour. The photos came out blurry but maybe it will give you some idea. I attempted to get photos of all the flame heights It runs through. I was unable to capture one where it is deep in the pot and almost going out. Most of the time the flame is around the bottom of the diamond. The flames are not lazy at all. They are very lively and you can hear the air whooshing about. This is all set to high heat, normal blower, #5 flame height. My liner is 4" and I think it ended up being about 30' long. Heat output at the center stove vent is normally around 180 degrees F with C&C pellets.

    Thanks

    Attached Files:

  15. t5eu9eb7

    t5eu9eb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    When the dealer was out I did mention it. He gave it about a 0.5 second look and said that its "Fine".
  16. Kory

    Kory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Loc:
    Naples, ME
    What kind of pellets are you burning? What brand? Now think about 180 degrees coming out of your stove vent with your stove on normal blower and running on high.... That blower is pushing between 700-800 cfm on high of 180 degree air.... That should mix in and fill the entire room in a matter of say like 30 minutes... If its taking longer than that you house is leaking some air somehow.... Running the stove maxed out on every setting is not a good idea and is not going to solve your issue. This unit is designed to "heat up an area once" and maintain it constantly all winter long. It only burns with a small flame and extracts a huge amount of heat off this small flame. I would do the following.....

    Clean behind your baffle with a small paint brush and vacuum
    Set the stove on the automatic setting
    Make sure the convection blower is on normal setting
    Make sure your ash pan is in correctly
    Make sure noting fell into your hopper and is partially blocking pellets
    Set the flame height to +4 or +3 (you can fine tune later)
    Set the stove ON HOLD to a temperature you like in the house and never touch it again
    Set the temperature differential to 1.5 degrees
    Set the stove to softwood pellets

    Then let the stove do its thing.... Check it for pellets twice a day or more if needed and clean your glass, firebox, and ash pan every seven days exctally.

    It doesn't matter what kind of heat the stove flares up to and blasts into the room, all that matters is your saving money on oil, and the stove maintins a comfortable temperature in your home or heating area. Let the stove put along on automatic and do what it decides it needs to do. It will heat your house.

    If softwood pellets just is not cutting it for you with everything I've said you could turn it onto sunflower seeds but I just don't see why you would need to
  17. Lake Girl

    Lake Girl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,519
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    I may be out in left field but - It's on sunflower fuel setting and your using wood pellets?

    The OAK is necessary if it is a newly constructed house - usually very air tight. Major rehab on an older house may have the same result. You've mentioned that you are not in the house yet but not why... New construction?

    Edit: read back farther and realized the sunflower setting was a suggestion from a forum member for further testing:)

Share This Page