• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jsk175

Nov 15, 2011
NEPA
Hi all, I am a newbie to this forum and just wanted to say hello. I just bought a used 2009 Harman P68. I bought it off Craigslist for $1800 and am looking forward to hookup it up and feeling the warmth. I purchased my first home last year and went through the winter with electric heat only. In the spring I vowed that I would never do that again, So I settled on buying a pellet stove and finally found the Harman on Craigslist about 2 weks ago.
As I stated I dont have it hooked up yet, but am hoping to get to that before Thanksgiving. So far the only thing the stove has done for me is forced me to re do my basement and lay some tile and hang some sheet rock and some other stuff. But I can say that I am now looking forward to the cold weather so that I can see what this puppy does. Anyway I just wanted to say hello.

I have a P68, it is a great stove. You will be very happy! Make sure you put the stove where you want to heat. Don't put it in the basement and expect it to heat the 1st floor. You won't be happy.

Tom C.

jsk175 said:
But I can say that I am now looking forward to the cold weather so that I can see what this puppy does.

I know that feeling! I just installed my P43 last week, tried to get it done as quick as I could because my furnace broke down (too messy and expensive to replace due to location in crawl space), and it was starting to get down below freezing here at night.

Every day since I've installed it it's been pleasantly warm out. Dammit!

I'm a newbie here too, but welcome!