1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Question for quadrafire techs on MT Vernon AE stoves

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by hooter04, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. hooter04

    hooter04 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    What year did HHT come out with the upgraded burnpot for this stove? I had one installed in 2009 in one of my stoves. I have another MT Vernon I purchased in April 2009, with a manufacture date of January 2009.Does this stove have the upgrade in it or not?Reason I ask is,the newer stove goes through 1 ignitor a year.the older stove has the ignitor that was installed with the upgrade 2 yrs ago.The dealer says the newer stove has the upgrade in it.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Jtjt

    Jtjt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    Purchased mine in oct of 2008, just got the updated burn pot. FYI, the burn pot is warranted for 5 years. The weld broke on the original that holds the tube steel that holds the ignitor, that attaches to burn pot. If anyone is changing an ignitor, check that piece of steel. If my ignitor lasted another year I would have been paying the $103 for a new one.
    Ran into the service tech getting parts, he said the new design is not much different.
    Also, buy the required fuses to have on hand. Hard to find on a weekend. 20 x 6 mm glass 250volt, 15 amp. My ignitor failed and shorted and blew fuse.
  3. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,457
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    Check the igniter opening, new pot was larger.
  4. hooter04

    hooter04 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    I'm thinking the burnpot in the January 09 stove, could possibly have the old design,with the smaller hole. I should get more than 1yr out of an ignitor. Thats what was happening with the older stove, till I had the upgrade put in.
  5. maglite67

    maglite67 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Loc:
    WI
    What i'm finding on the stoves that burn out ignitors is they are installed wrong you can not go over the rail the autoclean will pull on the wire there is a metal hook in front of the rail and the washer goes on the inside the housing creating an air gap and not causing it to over heat. also I have seen the springs loose tension and cause the bottom of burn pot hang open slightly causing air a path of least resistance and over heating ignitor. in the wall control goto properties and look at the revision of the fuel tables should say rev 030 if it says rev 020 then you need the dealer to do a fuel table upgrade keeps ignitor on for 7-9 mins instead of 14-19 mins about half. the new style burn pot has the back bottom edge of the ignitor housing cut out to aid in cooling ignitor compare to your other stove should be able to feel it through ash pan.
  6. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

    I understand the fuel table updates will revert back to the originals if you ever change your elevation setting.

    Which I have been known to do.

    maglite67, where you from?
  7. pip3398

    pip3398 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Loc:
    Central New York
    Neither of these stoves would have the latest Burn Pot in them. The newest revision came out in January of 2010. THese new pots allow more cooling for the ignitors. They do help ignitor life, but the ignitor does need to be installed properly.
  8. maglite67

    maglite67 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Loc:
    WI
    I'm in Wisconsin and work for ESES
  9. BIGISLANDHIKERS

    BIGISLANDHIKERS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    316

    Anyone know about this??
  10. John97

    John97 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    448
    Loc:
    Spring Hill, FL
    This was being discussed a week or so ago in another thread. I'm mobile or I'd link to it.
  11. hooter04

    hooter04 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    OK here's the deal. The older stove that had upgraded burnpot installed has REV 020. That ignitor has been in there almost 2yrs. The newer stove has a REV 030 reading which is using 1 ignitor per yr. I guess that explains why I am going through an ignitor every yr on the newer stove. I felt the insides of both burnpots,and they both have the same size openings.Thanks for the info Maglite.
  12. Mrfire

    Mrfire Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Loc:
    Vancouver
    FYI, If you are only burning wood pellets in the AE stove Quadra Fire has released an ignitors that is using less wattage so that customers do not burn out the ignitors as quickly. This is only for customers burn strictly wood pellets as multly fuel units need the extra wattage to ignite the multi fuel.
  13. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

    Got a link or part number???
  14. rickwai

    rickwai Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Loc:
    ohio
    X2!
  15. pip3398

    pip3398 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Loc:
    Central New York
    SRV7000-647 is the new part # They are a little slow to get out there as they ramp up production. There should be more out there pretty quickly. If you need 1 right away PM me.
  16. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

    great, thanks!
  17. cavermedic

    cavermedic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    Southern Vermont
    Ouch - I'm striking out here. I have a 2008 Mt Vernon EA Insert and just last night installed my 4th igniter. I had been installing my igniters with the wire path running the same as first set by the installer. The instructions with the igniter I just put in last night are the first time I've seen (or maybe paid attention to?) the warnings about routing the wires. On the old igniter, they seemed to clear the rail but they then went through the hole that the instructions say "don't go here". My thermocouple wire still goes through there (thanks, installer!), and I don't at first glance see an easy way to disconnect it to reroute it. At least the igniter wires now run through the notch. Any suggestions on where to disconnect the thermocouple wire without pulling the whole insert out?

    I have the old burn pot. How easy is it to change myself on the insert?

    My fuel table setting says rev 020.

    I don't dare feel the spring tension.

    The only thing going right is that I had the washer in the right place on the burned-out igniter - but I can't swear that I did on igniter #2 that burned out after only 3 months (or that those wires weren't routed over the rail . . .).

    Thanks maglite. This one thread has told me a ton of important stuff about my insert.
  18. John97

    John97 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    448
    Loc:
    Spring Hill, FL
    There is someone selling the new SRV7000-647 lower-wattage ignitors on eBay, $44 each or $78 for a two-pack.
  19. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

    Good opportunity for a replacement and a backup if sumone needs one.
  20. cavermedic

    cavermedic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    Southern Vermont
    Nuts - I guess I just helped the local service dude buy his new fishing boat. Now I see why he told me (3 ignitors ago) that I could easily install one myself - with what he charges for parts, he doesn't need to make service calls.

Share This Page