Question for the pros!~ How to get longer burns out of a PE Vista?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

76ER

Hearth Supporter
Nov 30, 2007
Southern Ontario
the Pacific Energy Vista has a 1.5 cubic ft fire box...the PE Spectrum has a 2.1 cubic ft fire box....I have a PE vista and I can get a 4hr burn out of it....someone please explain how .6 of a cubic ft is going to get me a 7 to 8 hr burn...because that is what I understand a Spectrum can deliver...I am new to all of this!

BeGreen,
thanks for the reply....you have answered everything and that link was a good read...It would be nice to have both the total burn time and period of meaningfull heat increased so I dont have to get out of bed so much through the night..but my stove is only 3 yrs old and I could probably make due for now..Cheers!

I'm far from a pro, but I've been trying to absorb as much information as I can. From what I've read, packing the stove east-west (side to side) instead of north-south (front to back) can help increase burn times by slowing down the rate at which the wood burns. Of course, there will be some experimentation necessary with the air control to find the best setting in order to maximize burn time and minimize smoldering. Also, the type of wood used can make a difference too. Some woods, like oak, burn more slowly and lend themselves to overnight burns.

-SF

I added to the title. Hopefully that will attract some Vista owners that can share their experiences with you.

SlyFerret said: