St. Croix #2 light still blinking, what to do?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

OJDart

Nov 14, 2015
Baltimore, MD
Hello, I'm a novice, but learning a lot since last year when my used Auburn was installed. I don't know how old it is, but has a digital control panel.

Last year I installed a new control panel. This year it was working fine for a few weeks, then when I started a new fire, the stove shut itself off with the #2 light blinking. I cleaned all the regular places, tried all the easy tips, disconnected from the exhaust line since the T cap wouldn't come off to clean the chimney soot, but there wasn't much, so never removed chimney cap to clean from that end.

Ultimately I ended up installing a new combustion fan and gasket (lots of rust under the fan which I cleaned out in the process), new proof of fire switch, and new vacuum switch (replacement model which is smaller and 1" narrower from screw to screw). Still the #2 light came on. Then I tried to press the red button on the manual reset high limit switch and cleaned out the lint from the convection fan, started a new fire, but STILL got the #2 light blinking.