Tell me what happened

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BucksCounty

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Jan 11, 2009
Southeast PA
I am new to burning. This morning I loaded the stove, let the fire get going, and then dampered down (I have been reading on this forum that this is the best way to get the most heat/time out of a load). I noticed the fire was almost out, even with lots of red coals, so I opened the damper half way. A couple minutes later it caught, but with a big puff of smoke that came through the pipe connect to the stove. It is rear exiting with dvl connected to the chimney pipe. What happened? What did I do wrong?

Hi Bucks...when you 'damper down' you get a longer burn, like if you leave the house for a prolonged period. While you're in the house you burn for heat right? So let fire rip until it's either too warm for you or the stove top temp is too high. Then you can incrementally damper down to find the stoves sweet spot. btw this is a lot easier to do with an established bed of coals. Much harder to damper down a scratch fire. You'll get the hang of it after awhile.

there was excessive wood gas from the new wood on the hot coals and no oxygen to burn it until you opened up the air and made a mini explosion.

CZARCAR said:
BucksCounty said:
Thanks for the info. I thought my stove (hampton) was epa certified? I can pack it full of wood, right?
so detail the specs on stove...
Many people put their stove model in their sig to save us guessing.