1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

The stove won't stay lit. Help!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by MommyOf4, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Same thing keeps happening. :(

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    How old is the stove? Under warranty? Call dealer.

    If not, and you are fairly handy, you could try jumping the vac switch to narrow it down to that? More than likely is losing vacuum and Gasket may need "fluffed" or replaced.

    Can you use your fingers or a pair of pliers (gently) to make the gasket fluffy (thicker) again. Over time they flatten out.

    Jumping the vac switch will require you to unplug the stove and use a small piece of wire to make the switch think it has contact. (Dealing with Electricity here, if not able, then do not attempt).
  3. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    By jumping the switch, does that mean the vacuum will constantly on?
  4. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    That means the vac switch will think it has contact. The vacuum is created by the combustion blower?

    The vac switch doesn't "Make" vacuum or do anything, other than tell the auger that there is sufficient vacuum (door is closed and gaskets are good.
  5. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I found the vacuum switch and made sure the wires were completely connected and wiped the dust or ash off of it and it's been on for a good 30 mins. I think I would rather have the dealer take a look at it before I mess with jumping it. It sounds like a safety feature to me or am I wrong?
  6. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,061
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    It is a safety feature. You can safely bypass it if you're watching the stove, for long enough to see if it keeps burning. That would narrow the problem down to either a bad switch (not likely), or a lack of vacuum.
  7. Dinger

    Dinger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    SW CO
    Mommy,

    You say you found the switch; it has two wires and a tube attached to it. When the switch is engaged by vacuum created by the stove, it would be the same as connecting those two wires together. That is what a "jumper" would do, replicate the switch in an active state. This must be done carefully as one of those wires is live, which is why it's done with the stove unplugged.

    The tube is what delivers the vacuum to the switch, and what I was referring to a page or so back. This tube can get plugged and block the vacuum to the switch, disabling it.

    I can get to mine quite easily, and I pull it quite often and just blow through it to make sure it's clear. For clarity, the stove is off, and unplugged, and I pull the tube off of the switch, and just blow through it to make sure it's clear, then I reinstall, plug the stove back in, and I'm good to go.
  8. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,119
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    If you do this it is important to keep track of where the tube was attached and where the wires were attached when you started so that you can make sure to put them back in the right place. If your memory is as bad as mine, take a picture. Did I say take a picture?
  9. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,007
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    actually before jumping, take the tube loose at the switch and blow some air through it, i usually use "canned air" like you would blow out your computer with
  10. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,007
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    Like this

    Attached Files:

  11. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I'm really missing the warmth of a pellet stove. It's just not the same as a heat pump (or electric heat...is it the same thing?)
  12. Dinger

    Dinger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    SW CO
    What's your status? Waiting for repair person?
  13. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    We have a repair person coming on Jan 8th, but I want to fix it if I can. It's going to cost $160 for the first 30 mins and $70 for each 30 mins after if it's not a warranty issue.
  14. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    BTW, I noticed smoke coming from the elbow at top during the initial start up. After a few seconds it's gone. This just started happening as well when the stove started acting up. Is this normal?
  15. mralias

    mralias Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    893
    Loc:
    MA
    NO! Smoke is not suppose to come from the elbow. You have a leak. What type of venting are you using?
  16. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Selkirk VP
  17. Dinger

    Dinger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    SW CO
    Why don't you take a bunch of photos if everything you did; pipe, clean out, baffles, wiring etc. just put up a bunch, maybe someone will see something out of the ordinary. Cost is nothing!
    heat seeker likes this.
  18. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Good idea.
  19. Brokenwing

    Brokenwing Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    448
    Loc:
    Northern Maryland
    Fyi that slekirk elbow needs slicone. Tech support advised me when I did my install, to put rtv high temp silicone around both joints on the elbow. Also check your stove adapater as well, they usually need some sealent as well
    MommyOf4 likes this.
  20. mralias

    mralias Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    893
    Loc:
    MA
    Can you isolate where on the 45 it is coming from? Is it at a joint or in the middle of the 45? Did you move this at some point when you were cleaning it? I don't have Selkrik VP myself but I'm sure someone that is watching this thread does and can tell you how to stop the leak. The important part is leaking of any sort in the venting system, especially in the house is bad.
  21. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest


    This will not cause your stove to shut down.

    It needs sealed up for your Safety (CO Kills) but q Pellet stove will run with No Venting hooked up.

    The Feed gate being set to low, T/C placement, and ash trap door (bottom of pot) are my most likely guesses.

    Have you tried to open the Gate ALL THE WAY?? If the stove doesn't get enough fuel? It will not start or stay running?

    Try opening gate 100%. Set stove to Med or High and restart..... See what happens.
  22. Dinger

    Dinger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    SW CO
    And us mechanics and shop owners get a bad rap at $90-95/hr.

    I prefer to be robbed with a gun.
  23. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I found a bit of a gap where the tee cap is and I'm wondering if that could be the problem?

    Attached Files:

    • 018.JPG
      018.JPG
      File size:
      269 KB
      Views:
      85
    • 026.JPG
      026.JPG
      File size:
      124.9 KB
      Views:
      89
    • 025.JPG
      025.JPG
      File size:
      100 KB
      Views:
      83
  24. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I haven't moved it to my knowledge. When our 2nd installers came out they said that it was mostly likely the lubricants burning off. Anyhow I'll make sure to get some silicone for it tomorrow.
  25. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    333
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    We do have silicone around the adapter. I'll make sure to get some silicone tomorrow for the elbow.

Share This Page