The stove won't stay lit. Help!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by MommyOf4, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. rparker

    rparker
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    40
    Loc:
    Vermont
    Did you check all of the connections? Possible during cleaning that you loosened one.
    Unplug stove first. Then check each wire connection (especially to the snap disks). Mine looked good but I found that the connectors were loose on one. Tightened it up and all is good.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. gfreek

    gfreek
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    93
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    Any news on the stove in this thread??
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I checked the thermocouple and it's definitely on all the way. I checked the venting - no obstructions. Connections are tight. Vacuumed the entire stove. End result - Stove shuts down about 3-5 after the fan comes on. I still hear the clicking noise once the fan comes on. Reset button doesn't work once fan comes on.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464
    Likes Received:
    494
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    That is because the negative pressure switch has the auger stopped. That is how the stove works.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. gfreek

    gfreek
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    93
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    So whats next? Pay the outrageous service charge?? Did they ever jump the vacuum switch??
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    What is the light sequence when you unplug and replug in the stove? What color and how many times?
     
  7. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464
    Likes Received:
    494
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    Do not jump the vacuum switch if the door does not seal. Please refer to post #66 in this thread.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. Hdhogger

    Hdhogger
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    47
    Loc:
    Massachusetts
    Has the vac line been cleared yet? I would do this asap and try firing up. First doing the dollar bill test around all of the door gasket.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. fmsm

    fmsm
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    135
    Loc:
    South of Boston MA
    Stupid question time; After you removed the baffles, cleaned behind them, and then reseated them the stove worked fine for a short period of time? How long was that for and have your tried reseating the baffles again in case something was/is loose?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Vac line?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    It ran for a couple hours at the most and then it stopped. I'm thinking it's the gasket. I'm thinking about adding another washer to see if it will help it. Can someone tell me what kind of washer and where I need to put it? Thanks in advance.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. Dinger

    Dinger
    Expand Collapse
    Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    33
    Loc:
    SW CO
    The vac (vacuum) line is the tube that is connected to the vacuum switch you looked at. Its visible in your pic. Those get clogged once in a while and trick the switch. You can pull it off the switch and blow through it toward the stove to clear it.

    Have you done this?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. Dinger

    Dinger
    Expand Collapse
    Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    33
    Loc:
    SW CO
    It's the black tube in the middle of the pic. ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357099329.080161.jpg
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I haven't done this, but didn't see any tubes to the va switch. Maybe I was looking at the wrong thing?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    The wire looking thing or the black round thing?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    In the pic above, it's the black tubing right in the middle. It's coming in from the left side, and ends up right behind the middle red wire. If you unplug everything that attaches to the vacuum switch one at a time, you'll find it.

    Once you find the tube, blow through it, use compressed air, or canned air. Just need to make sure it's clear, then reattach and try the stove. But if the door gasket fails the dollar bill test, then it still won't stay running.....get that door tightened up.
     
  17. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I talked to our repairman today and told him that our stove failed the dollar bill test. I wanted to make sure that he brought a snap disk and a gasket for the door and he said that since our stove is a new one, he doubts that it is the gasket issue. Something tells me that I will be frustrated tomorrow...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464
    Likes Received:
    494
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266

    I suggest open carry vs. concealed carry of your sidearm tomorrow.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  19. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Have you seen new CAB50 with bad gaskets?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Its possible for any new stove (regardless of Manufacturer) to have a "Bad" part. Especially a gasket that is installed by an actual person.
     
  21. rparker

    rparker
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    40
    Loc:
    Vermont
    Just because a part is/was new, the installation or adjustment could have been sub-par. Does the gasket have any obvious kinks, frawed parts, etc?
    Wish I lived closer.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  22. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    A little bit of fraying but not much.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  23. rparker

    rparker
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    40
    Loc:
    Vermont
    If the repairman is coming have him check all of the connections. You might have slightly loosened one when cleaning. When the stove heats up, the metal will expand and a loose connection can open up. When it cools down the metal contracts and a connection can seem ok. Just trying to come up with any possible solutions.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  24. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    So the repairmen from our stove shop came by and has determined that the "purple" connection was not completely connected. It's working now... so far. He said the gasket was not at fault, so we shall see...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  25. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    The connection seemed tight to me. He said that it was on, but not making a complete connection something to do with a plastic piece. He was getting a little technical and it went over my head.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information