1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Thought I had the PS-35 figured out

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by samdweezel05, Nov 11, 2012.

  1. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    Not sure I understand the question.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,109
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    The control box in the stove is used in more than just the model you have, there is a dial with numbers on it that is what is being asked for. The control box also flashes a code when it first sees power so you can tell what the setting being used is.
  3. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    What is the setting used for? I will have to pull the back off and look to see where it is set at.
  4. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    For an extra 10% of feed.
  5. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,109
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    It determines what all of the firing parameters are for the stove the control box is in.

    There are a number of stove makers that use a common controller with multiple sets of firing parameters.

    On some of the controllers the parameters are selected by jumpers, some by a rotary switch, and some via the controller in a stove setup mode.
  6. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    Here we go again. It's choked all the way down again and still has a huge flame. Cleaned it yesterday and even checked the pipe outside. Everything is clean. On high it just feeds and feeds and feeds. It drops pellets about every 3 seconds. After about an hour I can only see the top 2 holes in the ramp in the bottom of the pot. Cleaning it yesterday did nothing. I dump the pot every day and clean the holes twice a week. Last Sunday it was fine after cleaning but I noticed the flame starting to grow higher as the week went on. The holes in the pot were nowhere near plugged Wednesday or yesterday. On medium it will barely run with the feed gate choked down and on low it will go out. I have always believed there to be a mechanical problem with the feed rate on high.
  7. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,109
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    What the holy hell are you playing with the feed gate for?
  8. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    Ummmm, it won't heat my house on medium so I was attempting to get it to burn correctly on high to get the house warm. Sorry dad.
  9. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    It has also been returned to its normal position and is running on medium for the time being.
  10. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,109
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    The feed systems are set on high burn. Then the change in auger timing handles the heat setting change. The feed gate is changed only when you change pellet brands and again only high burn after a complete deep cleaning.

    This is what does the fine tuning in your air fuel mixture. Once it is done the system can adjust for the different heat settings.

    If this setting is done wrong you get incomplete burns and loads of ash as a result. Followed by burn pot build up and overflow because that ash goes somewhere and it just wrecks holy havoc with the air flow through the stove.

    It is a vicious and fast.downward circling of the drain, leading to visits here and facing all kinds of prying questions and eyes and the taking of pictures etc ..... :p

    ETA: I ain't your father but if the voice works I'll use it ==c
  11. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    I understand the purpose of the feed gate and the fact that it is set on high. I also understand that the auger controls the pellets being fed on other settings. I was trying to get it to function for the time being so I could come back here and ask more questions and take more pictures and be ready for the prying questions.
  12. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,109
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Well where are the pictures of your venting and a full detailed list of part used including lengths, angles, diameter, and orientation?

    For all we know you might have a moonshiners worm on that puppy for venting. So there's your picture request and long list of prying questions.

    Maybe someone will be along to look at your answers and the picture, I'm old and the cat is trying to put me down for a nap so I'm out of here for a geezer nap.
  13. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    There is a "T" on the back of the stove. A 4 foot length of pipe going up, a 90 degree elbow facing the exterior wall, a 3 foot length of pipe going through the wall and a stainless adjustable termination cap on the end with a critter guard. There is a clean out cap on the bottom of the "T" on the back of the stove. It's pretty simple and clean.
  14. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,109
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    The adjustable portion of the termination cap is adjustable how?

    I'm looking for air flow reducers of any kind.
  15. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    There is a picture of the entire thing on page one.
  16. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    It is slightly adjustable to angle the exhaust.
  17. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    Here are some pictures. If you need more please let me know. thank you.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    This is the pot and inside of the stove after only one day of running after a complete cleaning.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Here is the pattern on the glass after one week of operation.

    [​IMG]


    Here is the feed gate at it's normal position and a picture of the pellets we use.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  18. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,109
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Ok I see one possible gotcha in the venting, that is the fact that the termination isn't pointed towards the ground and that will allow wind gusts to interfere with the combustion blower reducing its ability to eject ash from the burn pot.

    If there is a critter guard in there I'd remove it if possible for the burn season, they tend to gunk up further restricting air flow. I do see evidence of soot in the end cap.

    Is that 3" pipe?

    If so it is at the normal maximum EVL for 3" vent for most stoves.

    How high above sea level are you?
  19. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,109
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    You never did tell us how many flashes your controller was producing.

    Wrong setting there and firing on high is likely to be iffy.
  20. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    The venting is 4" I.D. Was not aware that the cap need to be pointed towards the ground. I pulled the critter guard out about a month ago because I was tired of it getting plugged. The stove pipe termination cap is 126 feet above sea level. I did not have time to check flashes or other things inside the stove.
  21. samdweezel05

    samdweezel05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    How do I check the flashes? I can see a light inside the rear cover. does it only flash when first plugged in?
  22. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,109
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    IIRC the control box flashes blue when power is first supplied to the stove (stove is plugged in).

    The controller has multiple selections on it one is for your stove, another for your stove with a 10% more fuel feed, then there could be choices for the PS-50 on there as well.

    I haven't seen the data sheet on that controller but the makers of the guts to that stove (Quadrafire) tend to have controllers that fire multiple stoves.
  23. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Is there a Cover or a Damper plate in the ash pan of that stove?

    Other Heatilators have a little swivel plate, that allows for the adjustment of intake air. Yours may be Closed? Open all the way, if its there. Should be on the bottom (remove ash pan) floor of ash area.
  24. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

  25. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,109
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Plenty of things to check aren't there?

Share This Page