two stoves -- one pipe & chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

allene

Hearth Supporter
Mar 27, 2009
Ohio
I'm new to woodstoves, does anyone know if this is a workable idea? I'd like to use one chimney for 2 stoves. One small stove (Morso 1410) will be in the basement, with the pipe going up thru the first floor, second floor and the roof to the chimney. I was thinking about connecting another small stove on the first floor, right above the fbasement stove, to the same pipe run by using a T-connector pipe thru the back of the stove? I’d be using one sove at a time (or maybe both?).
Appreciate any ideas/thoughts. Since I just put a ton of blood, sweat and tears into my cabin, I dont' want it to go up in flames :)

Welcome. Sorry, but no, you mustn't do that. Each appliance needs its own complete and separate flue system. The reason for that is the very real risk that toxic flue gases from an operating appliance will find their way into the living space through the non-operating appliance. Two stoves = two flue structures. Rick

Edit to add: It's not so much that you'll go up in flames, but rather that you might go down in an invisible blanket of Carbon Monoxide.