1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

What is everyone running for pellet stove back-up power?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by The Village Idiot, Oct 9, 2012.

  1. MacP

    MacP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Loc:
    Southeastern MA
    I have a B&S 7000 generator (8750 surge wattage) on a transfer. Would the UPS condition the power going to the pellet stove?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Eatonpcat

    Eatonpcat Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,070
    Loc:
    Eaton Township, Ohio
    Generac Guardian 17kw generator. Mostly to run my sump pumps, but it's nice to have the whole house under power if/when the power fails!
    The Village Idiot likes this.
  3. kobalt

    kobalt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Loc:
    Prince Edward Island
    Generator, 5500 watt with 8500 watt surge power.
  4. bill3rail

    bill3rail Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    448
    Loc:
    LI, NY
    Have a small gen to keep running, but I want to install a backup gen with transfer switch.

    Bill
  5. MCPO

    MCPO Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,217
    Loc:
    western Ma , close to NY state border
    For the past 10 yrs now in the event of an extended power failure I been running my 3kw generator for my oil furnace which provides heat and hot water plus lights and keep my refrigerator/freezer cold. I cycle it on for an hour or so and off for 3-6+ hrs depending on the weather.
    I have a simple manual transfer setup that is safe and works well.
    I figured why run a marginally capable pellet stove full time off a generator when I can heat the whole house up much much quicker with the furnace simply by running a generator a few hours a day. .
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  6. Ernest Smith

    Ernest Smith New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    South of Boston, MA
    Honda EU 2000i and two Mr. Heater BIG Buddy propane heaters.
  7. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,109
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    This house was wired with a panel interlock and second feed for a generator, my generator can power anything in the house except for using the entire electric stove. I plan on running my setup the same way you do. The last time we were hit with any amount of outage wasn't at this house (luckily the temperatures were just at or above freezing, we also had two natural gas heaters, and a gas hot water heater) and from what I know about the power feeds to here I don't expect to need the generator much at all (crosses all claws).
  8. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,276
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    Kawasaki 5500W Generator via manual transfer switch into the panel.
  9. Boobo0

    Boobo0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Eastern Ma
    Yamaha 6500 genarator
  10. Vinculum

    Vinculum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    South Central PA
    Battery Backup APC1400XL

    IMG_2426.jpg


    Aurora Diesel Generator - Portable 6500/7000 watt.


    IMG_1678.jpg
    The Village Idiot likes this.
  11. Seasoned Oak

    Seasoned Oak Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,651
    Loc:
    Eastern Central PA
    A wood stove that needs no power
  12. iron stove

    iron stove Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Loc:
    Central CT
    Havent lost power even with a Hurricane and blizzard last year, But here is my plan

    [​IMG]
  13. Millsk

    Millsk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Loc:
    Eastern ct
    I have generator that I hook up. We have a verticle flue so I have had zero issues with smoke in the house. Power goes down, if we aren't home the oil takes over at 60 Degrees, hook up the gen and off we go until the utility gets its act together :)
  14. Indiana

    Indiana Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Loc:
    South Jersey
    Love it.
    tjnamtiw likes this.
  15. exoilburner

    exoilburner Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    424
    Loc:
    NW Washington State
    Generator. (It's really an inverter)
  16. JohnnyB_44

    JohnnyB_44 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Warkworth, Ontario, Canada
    Generator
  17. gfreek

    gfreek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    ETQ Inverter Generator
  18. briansol

    briansol Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,774
    Loc:
    central ct
    Tiny ups. buys me a few min during flickers, but its dead in about 15 min or so.
    furnace t-stats stay on 60 as a back up at all times anyway. furnace is on due to boiler for my hot water.

    I don't currently have a back up plan to that. I bought a cheapo gen from HF the 800 watt900 peak one... and it wasn't enough to run my stove. tripped it everytime the convection system hit even though the manual said 700 watts max draw at full everything. So, that was a waste of 80 bucks. lol

    I do have a cord of wood ish in the back yard, and if it gets relaly bad, i'll rip out the stove and the flue and burn wood if i really have to.

    A wood stove is on my future to do list.
    As is getting a 2000invertor but money talks.... and it says lol to me. Like, where did I GO!!! lol
    The Village Idiot likes this.
  19. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,010
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    The Mt Vernon AE will run directly off a 12V battery. I added a true sine inverter so that it could be started on it's electric heater. The stove runs in a limited mode on battery, no clean cycles and low blower speed, but it only pulls 18 Watts. That's 1.5 Amps out of a 100 Ahr battery. should give me about two days of running with no recharging. The 20 Watt solar panel should extend that to about three days. Beyond that I have to find a way to recharge the battery.
  20. tinkabranc

    tinkabranc Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,641
    Loc:
    South Coast MA
    generator
  21. WOODNUT358

    WOODNUT358 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    RI
    Generator.
  22. CTguy9230

    CTguy9230 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    297
    Loc:
    Northwest CT
    6500 generac
  23. FordMastertech

    FordMastertech Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Loc:
    Burlington CT
    I take the deep cycle battery out of the RV in the winter and hook it up to the MT Vernon AE insert. It has a built in battery backup, It will not start the stove but it will keep it running for a few days before the battery needs recharging. Also have 2 Generac generators, 4000XL and a new XG8000E. I have the main panel fed underground from my shed through a interlock system so I can run the whole house. The generators stay and run out in my shed so they stay secure and dry. The 4000 watt was a little small but ran all the essentials if you were careful.
    tjnamtiw likes this.
  24. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,010
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    I believe that selecting the fuel type determines the clean cycle frequency.
  25. kenstogie

    kenstogie Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Loc:
    Albany (ish)
    I don't have a b/u generator but I do have a back heat source, the unit is about 5'6" tall, it's width is about 32 at the mid section and keeps a constant 98.6 temp.

Share This Page