What Size Generator

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by dhungy, Mar 27, 2013.

  1. dhungy

    dhungy
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    Fingerlakes
    What size Generator would I need to run my Avalon Astoria anyway have any clue?

    Thanks
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Jags

    Jags
    Expand Collapse
    Moderate Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    16,962
    Likes Received:
    5,760
    Loc:
    Northern IL
    There should be a tag on the unit or the motor that tells of the power needed to run it. Oversize by 25% (or more) and you are good to go. I think even the smallest genset will do the job. If you have any electronics that need to be run, be aware...not all gensets create a pure enough wave form to run sensitive stuff. The genny paperwork will say "for use" or "not for use" on sensitive equipment.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    stoveguy2esw likes this.
  3. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,142
    Likes Received:
    1,068
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    most any pellet stove is going to run well below 1K, even in startup when the igniter which is the biggest power hog is engaged (igniters usually will use 3-4 hundred watts when running by themselves, but only run during a start cycle. when talking battery backups i usually suggest a bare minumum of 750 watts for an igniter stove and 450 for a manual start unit
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. briansol

    briansol
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,913
    Likes Received:
    293
    Loc:
    central ct
    fyi, my stove would NOT run on the HF 800 watt cheapo gen set that I tried. my stove will NOT start up on my UPS, rated for 1200 watts. It will run it, though once ignited with wall power.
    Manual states max draw of 400 for running, and 500 for ignitor, there by 900 total for a high fan start up. but it's clearly more than that on low fan start up too boot.

    I would suggest 1500 watts as a minimum to ensure full start up without the what it.
    IMO, get at least a 2000, and use it for some lights/etc too once its up and running.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. Jags

    Jags
    Expand Collapse
    Moderate Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    16,962
    Likes Received:
    5,760
    Loc:
    Northern IL
    This is why I always suggest a genny with AT LEAST 25% more output then your heaviest load. The whole "start up /run time" figures are only stating that the genny ain't gonna burn up for the 2 seconds you pull the "startup" power and are often times not really capable of the claimed "startup" - especially with cheaper gensets.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,142
    Likes Received:
    1,068
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va

    ditto, usually i try to "sway" customers asking this question to look harder at a genny as most purpose made battery backup systems are quite pricy for a short term gain, a genny of the same price cold run several things for a longer period of time
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    1000 watt genny should do just fine. The Astoria has a startup rating of approx. 400 watts, and a running wattage of approx. 180.

    After start-up, you could run a fews more things off it too.
     

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information