Will a stove upgrade save us money?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rmills007

Hearth Supporter
Nov 17, 2010
Oregon
Hello Hearth community! So glad I found this site.
I'm a newbie to wood heat so please excuse any redundant question I might ask.

Just bought a home in Oregon that came with a beautiful Vermont Castings 1977 Vigilant. We love the stove. From what I've researched, it's regarded as well-loved old workhorse. We rely on the Vigilant to heat our home 99% of time. We have a forced air furnace, but rarely use it.

We're looking seriously at any and all ways we can improve efficiency in our home and save money on heating costs. Window replacements would be the most effective improvement, (we have many, many square feet of single pane, aluminum framed windows) but it's not an affordable option at the moment. In the meantime I've begun reading about the drastic improvements in wood stove technology, and I'm beginning to think that replacing the old Vigilant with a newer more efficient wood stove might be a good way to save money.

The assumption being: More efficient stove = burn less wood = buy less wood = saving money.

It seems like a no-brainer, but I'd love to get some hearth.com expert advice on whether or not this would be a wise decision.
With both federal and state tax credits expiring at the end of the year, seems like now's the time to move on this.

Thanks!