Wood Stove for Shop/Garage Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

CutterComp

Oct 27, 2018
Bechtelsville, PA
First, let me say I am new to woodstoves and new to the forums here. In an attempt to not be that new guy who posts up the dumb "Uhhh, what stove should I buy?" questions, I did my best to educate myself through the stickied threads at the top of the forums and of course, a bunch of other internet reading and videos over the past month or so.

So this thread is more of along the lines of getting feedback on the solution I've reached based on my own muddling. I'm hoping that if I'm on the wrong track, you folks can set me right.

Here's the background: I'm in southeast PA and setting up a machine shop in my garage. The garage was built in the '50s and is built into the hillside, so that the back wall of the ground floor is fully underground. So figure about half of the ground floor is actually underground which is great for insulation (terrible for water ingress... but that's a different matter). The building is two stories plus a walk-up attic. First story is cinderblock, the upper stories are wood framed and the second story, which was originally built as an apartment, is fiberglass insulated. The stairways are currently open with no walls or doorways, although I have temporary plastic sheeting at the top of the stairs leading up from the ground floor. The building is 25' x 25', so 625 sq. ft. per story. There is one 8 ft garage door at the front of the ground floor that I will be insulating shortly!