17-20% Water Content Willow - Can I burn it?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Karottop

Aug 16, 2018
Baltimore, MD
Hey Folks,

I've been reading these forms lately as if I'm studying for an exam. I'm new to wood stoves and even fireplaces for that matter. We just bought a house with two fireplaces. I lined the first chimney and am in the process of lining the second chimney once my supplies get here. We got two wood burning inserts on the cheap - Osburn 1600 for upstairs and a giant Buck Stove model 80 downstairs (got this one on the side of the road for free!)

I'm also preparing my wood for this winter as I'd rather not pay crazy rates for oil heat if I can help it.

Here's my question:

I felled a giant dying willow tree about a month ago and cut it into cord wood. I hear willows already are not good to burn and the moisture meter is reading anywhere from 17%-25%. I doubt it'll get much less between now an winter so the question is, with the wood stoves I have, can I use this wood to heat my house this winter? I probably have about 1.5 cords of this stuff stacked in my backyard. I'm a newbie at this so thanks for any advise on how to burn in these wood stoves properly as well. Thanks!

All wood will burn if it is dry. If it is under 20% on a fresh split then it is dry. Willow is not the best and you will be loading the stoves more often than you would with oak or ash but it will burn and keep you warm. I've burned dry willow in the past with no problems.
Welcome to the forum!

Reactions: Prof