Advice needed on Quadra-Fire 1200 stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Hunter55

Sep 24, 2018
New York
Hi All,

I'm new to pellet stoves (all solid fuel burning stoves actually), and recently bought a used Quadra-Fire 1200 from the local Quadra-Fire dealer. The stove is from 1997 (hence the reason I've not called it a classic bay 1200, even though it is basically the same stove). The dealer sold it to me as an off the books purchase, it was a personal stove he had in his house. He told me it's an old stove that he fixed up, but that it currently works. Yesterday, as the temperature had dropped, I plugged in the stove to try it out, and lo and behold it does not work. Now, from what I can tell, with these stoves, when you plug them in, the exhaust blower is supposed to activate for 8-10minutes. This does not happen, instead there is a humming noise that I traced back to the blower after removing each of the panels. Now, I'm planning on going back to the guy tomorrow to tell him that the stove does not work and give him a chance to rectify the situation. Here's the thing. I paid $500 for the stove. I can't guarantee that he will do anything to make this situation right, but if he is willing to work with me, the only two options I can see are to repair the unit or just refund my money. Looking at this from his perspective, he may decide that it's not worth it to fix the stove, and may instead opt to refund my money.

TLDR: Bought a stove for $500, stove does not work.