Advice on Insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Sandstone

Dec 4, 2020
NY
Greetings! Newbie here looking for some guidance. I have the fireplace shown in a 60's one-story home with a cathedral ceiling. The firebox opening is roughly 60" x 16" x 29". I don't have the depth handy but the depth is greater than it's height. As you can see from the pics, the fp has seen only moderate use (that will change) and the bricks are in great shape but there is some missing mortar where the flue meets the smoke chamber and between some of the bricks. With a fire burning we can smell smoke in the kitchen behind the fp!

The fp shop is quoting $3800 to remove the damper, parge the smoke chamber and install a lymance and not even replace the top tiles (which have looked like that for the 26 years we have owned the house) so I was thinking for that kind of $$ I could install an insert and SS liner or I can do the repairs myself although I'm not really interested in cutting out the damper or mortaring that flue/brick joint. I'm not so concerned with generating heat as I am with enjoying a wood fire and roasting some marshmallows. I like the clean and full view look of the Regency CI2700 but don't need the catalyst etc. With the fp being the focal point of our soon to be remodeled house, I'd appreciate your thoughts. Thanks in advance!

3-Living Room Fireplace.JPG image1.jpeg image2.jpeg image4.jpeg image6.jpeg