Air Travel Through Existing Duct In A Rancher

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fdegree

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Oct 20, 2009
Southern Delaware
I have tried to search the forum, but the results I have encountered don't seem to apply to my situation...then again, I'm new to wood stoves and may have misinterpreted what I was reading.

First, I am very new to wood stoves...never been around one for any length of time. Although, I do have a background in basic heating, A/C and ventilation.

My home is 2300 sq. ft. - single story - supply air duct work in the attic with registers in the ceiling - return air duct work in the crawl space with the grilles low on the wall - all of this duct work is insulated sheet metal - the indoor air handler is a vertical unit located in the garage.

I am considering a radical change to my heating system only if, for some odd reason, we ever lost power for an extended period of time...worst case scenario:
- remove the indoor air handler
- install an air-tight wood stove in the same place the air handler was
- install a canopy hood over the wood stove to capture the radiant heat and direct it into the existing supply duct work in the attic
- attach the smoke pipe to the existing 6" 2-wall smoke stack
- through natural convection, allow the existing return duct work, in the crawl space, to bring air back into the garage

My questions are:
How well would this work...keeping the entire house comfortable?