Appalachian 36 BW dirty glass

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Lincoln's Father

Nov 27, 2018
Kentucky
So I'm new to Hearth.com and fairly new to my wood insert. I grew up with a wood insert but we didn't have one with a catalytic combuster. I have an Appalachian 36bw that has the combuster. I'm still trying to figure out how to exactly work it. I've bought the stove used so I'm hoping the combuster is still working. I've been reading the manual and have ordered a catalytic probe to test the combuster. (please let me know if there is something else i need to do) Also, I have not yet installed a liner. A say all of this because I do not how it is effecting the problem I'm having.

My glass is getting very black and coated very heavily. So much so that hardly anything works to clean it. I've tried vinegar, I've tried ash and water. I used the rutland creosote in the stove, not on the glass directly, and this is what helped get it clean. But as soon as the next burn it was back to the way it was. I haven't tried the rutland conditioner. But I wanted to make sure that when I do clean the glass again, that I won't continue to have the same problem.