Ashford 25 Advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Kylefhasvc

Oct 23, 2022
Apple Valley, CA
New here! Not sure how this forum works. Or if I need to start a new thread But I just had a BK Ashford 25 installed last month and love it!

However. Couple things I’m not liking or am struggling with.

The door doesn’t stay open when loading. You can open it all the way to its max and it’ll slowly swing closed. The unit is level so I know it’s not that. I have a 3rd degree burn on my bicep to show for it trying to load it at 2 am in the dark. Is there an adjustment I can make to this.

Secondly. The bypass door doesn’t shut all the way with out slamming the rod multiple times. I had no idea it recessed back behind the face plate till it happened on accident. My burn times improved significantly after figuring this out but it almost acts like something is pushing back against it.

3rd. If I use the air control at all the door smokes out severely in the bottom corners especially in the hinge side I’ve adjusted the door to tighten the gasket and it helped a bit on the latch side the door came from the installer with probably a 1/4 gap when latched and I had smoke and flames coming out on first fire

Last thing. The latch is a mother f’r to open and close its super tight
Even when not trying to shut the door just operating the latch up and down. Do I need to lube something? Use graphite or what? The latch bar itself has a slight bow to it and has since installed.the installer said this was normal and the latch would break in but hasn’t.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• image.jpg