BBR Kickapoo Stove Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Texas2015

Dec 16, 2022
East Iowa
First post. Sorry for the length. I'm still learning.

I purchased a home back in the summer, and it had an old Kickapoo Stove works BBR model in the basement. I've been combing the forums for a while and doing research on woodstove operation. I had the flue cleaned out a few months back, and I've ran the stove twice now. I quite enjoy the heat it puts out- I'm hooked. I found the manual for the BBR someone posted, but it is quite limited on the information of the stove internals. In the stove(see picture), there is a grate (with a hole burned through but still operable) that runs most of the length of the stove and a solid stone/iron square tile at the back. Both are removable. Does anyone know if the configuration of these two items matters? Either tile in front and grate in back or grate in front and tile in back. The draft is in the front on the ash door (so the air has to enter through the bottom of the grate). I've been trying to center the fire over the tile (towards the back; see picture) so too many coals don't drop down away from the wood. I was trying to think maybe if the tile is in the front, then the air's path to the fire is longer so it heats up more before combusting. Additionally, the tile in the front lets you center the fire towards the front. Or maybe it doesn't matter at all since the coals that drop down continue to burn and heat up the air anyway?