BK burn time problems

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Doc C

Minister of Fire
Jul 26, 2017
Bonner County Idaho
This is my first year burning with a princess. It’s finally cold enough to burn 24 hours.

7am loaded the stove very full with Birch and red fir, got it ripping and charred all the wood. Shut down to about 1.25 and left.

12ish stopped at home and the wood was at least half gone and the thermostat was on the low side of the middle of active.

6ish not enough wood left to matter!!!

11 hours of decent burn. I’m happy overall but I was hoping for 24 hours in the shoulder seasons.

Any thoughts?

And yes my wood is dry. Lol

Don't try for the all the ripping hot fire and charring. You may be burning up the fuel prematurely. Go by the cat thermometer and engage the bypass once it's in the active zone. If it stays active it should be good to go.

You like many of us need to go to the learning curve of your setup, how the stove react, your heat demand, etc. Cause somebody dial it down to 1.5 and get 24hrs or more don't mean you will also. Learn how your stove works on your place, if the heat out at certain settings takes care of your heat demand, etc.

I have two in the same house with different stack lenght and both behave different. To get the 24 hrs out of them or more the settings are not the same.