BK Help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
N

nate379

I have been using my stove for close to 2 years now, so would figure that I have it all sorted out.

Came home tonight and the renter (I rent out a room in the house) put a load in but the fan isn't running. The fans usually end up running 24/7 most of the winter since the stove rarely cools down.

I'm not sure if something conked out or it's just being fussy.

The stove is dialed down, knob to 12:00, cat gauge is pegged out and stove top is reading around 650*. It's around -20* outside so it would be nice for the fan to come on to move the heat around the house.

I haven't pulled it apart at this point, but just wanted to hear from you guys if this is typical or maybe I should consider replacing the snap disc? I'm also thinking of wiring in an on/off switch as well. I realize I can turn it off, but I'd like to be able to turn it "manual on" too.

I looked at the manual, but don't understand what that snap disc does??
Could be a bad rheostat. I'm no electrical expert but maybe there's a way to safely bypass the rheostat to determine if it is the problem...
Can you call your dealer? Maybe they've run into this problem before?

It could be the snap disc. If you, or someone you know, has some electrical knowledge, you could check continuity on the snap disc while the stove is up to temperature...you could check the rheostat at any time because it is not dependent upon heat to work.