Block off plate question. Outside chimney tenp

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

crepitus

Oct 24, 2017
North NJ
So I'm new to burning... Had the stove installed 2 weeks ago and have been burning 24/7 the last 10 days. No block off plate (of course installer said not needed). The stove takes a long time to get to 600 and won't stay there long. I lit a match and put it by the surround and it sucks the flame in. So I'm assuming I'm heating the chimney. Tonight I hit the outside chimney with infrared gun and it was 60 degrees. My question is that heat from the liner heat my chimney or the stove? Sorry for the long winded post. And a plate is going in first break of this cold. Was 12 last night

The match told you all you need to know, and yes your heat is rising, and bleeding though the masonry to the outside world. I am not so sure that would stop the stove from getting & keeping up to temp though. Are you sure your wood ready to be burnt?

So I'm new to burning... Had the stove installed 2 weeks ago and have been burning 24/7 the last 10 days. No block off plate (of course installer said not needed). The stove takes a long time to get to 600 and won't stay there long. I lit a match and put it by the surround and it sucks the flame in. So I'm assuming I'm heating the chimney. Tonight I hit the outside chimney with infrared gun and it was 60 degrees. My question is that heat from the liner heat my chimney or the stove? Sorry for the long winded post. And a plate is going in first break of this cold. Was 12 last night