Brand New Regency GCi60-2 Issues

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

andyfitz

Aug 29, 2008
Baltimore,MD
Hello All-

I recently purchased a brand new Regency GCi60-2. Since I work in the HVAC facilities field I took on installing myself as it is not rocket science. All I have to say is I am not happy with this stove at all. I am currently having the following issues

- When it is on heat setting 2, combustion fan speed 2, and feed rate 3

o The flame never gets tall enough to come out of the top of the burn box

o The flame is more to the bottom left and right of the burn box

o Heavy soot builds up on the window

o Reading of .19 inch WC

o Ash builds up throughout the stove

- When it is on heat setting 3, combustion fan speed 2, and feed rate 3

o Flame is is stronger but only about 2.5 inches above burn pot

o Not as much soot be built up

o Reading of .19 inch WC

o went through one bag in 5.5 hours

Out of the box, the stove had a broken bearing that allows it to role on the bracket into the insert. There were brackets on the ash drawer that had not been bent to the proper angle during manufacturing. When I originally turned the unit on for the first time the stove would not even ignite. After lots of research and talking to Regency they told me that during manufacturing they had the supply air and vacuum hoses installed backward once the hoses were switched the stove started right up.

With lots of quality assurance issues right out of the box I am concerned there may be more issues. Do the symptoms I described above worry you all?