Burn Check -- Am I doing this right?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Wood Noob

Feb 15, 2012
Fairfield County, CT
As the handle implies, this is our first year burning wood--I'm a Wood Noob (Well, it depends on whatcha mean by wood, but that's a whole 'nuther forum). We recently moved into our 3,500 sq.ft. home with a reasonably open floor plan. Between the cathedral ceilings (with skylights, of course), huge floor to ceiling windows all over, and three teenage daughters who like their showers, we 'd been paying over $1,000 per month in heating oil since October. WIFE NOT HAPPY. So, three weeks ago, we installed a Lennox/Country Canyon 310 insert via our local stove shop in NW CT.

Aside from about three days of breaking in, we've been experimenting and trying to figure out how this wood stove thing works. (At this point, I should mention that I've been lurking here since December; thank you all for your invaluable comments and advice, particularly Be Green, Bro Bart, Dennis, Brian and all of you Fire Honor Society members...you really can't appreciate the peace of mind I feel from your posts!)

Anyway, after some initial mishaps that I'll share once our warranty expires, I think we've got the burn cycle down. Since we have no wood stocked up, we're using kiln dried hardwood. (also hellaciously expensive at $290 (refill price) for about 1/3 cord (a full Woodhaven rack (8X4X16")) Planning to move to Eco-bricks for the rest of the season.