Can you overload a stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BucksCounty

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Jan 11, 2009
Southeast PA
I am still learning/experimenting with the stove regarding loading and the longest possible burns. It is a small firebox, so I want to get the most out of every load. I am starting to really load up the box, really packing the splits in there. Is it possible to overload the firebox? It is a cast iron non cat stove.

It is possible to overFIRE a stove, getting it too hot for safety or hotter than the stove can handle. If you can load up the firebox and still not have too hot a fire, then I think you are probably OK. Too much wood might interfire with air flow, and it shouldn't touch the secondary burn tubes, perhaps there are other concerns?

The real concern should be overFIRE, not overload. If you have proper air control and can control the burn temp, then load 'er up.

Others will probably disagree but I think you can overload a non-cat EPA Phase II stove. The stoves are designed to burn gases above the wood load as they are released from the wood. If "combustion chamber" space isn't available then efficiency has to suffer.

BrotherBart said:
Others will probably disagree but I think you can overload a non-cat EPA Phase II stove. The stoves are designed to burn gases above the wood load as they are released from the wood. If "combustion chamber" space isn't available then efficiency has to suffer.

Absolutely agree, but as stated in most manuals a full load should not go above the firebrick.

Axis said:
Jags said:
BrotherBart said: