carpenter ants in wood stack

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Welderman85

Feeling the Heat
Nov 1, 2017
Chesaning MI
hi all im new to this. I have a decent stack near my house for burning this winter. I was moving it around and when I got to the bottom I notice little piles of saw dust. I didn't see any ants but with some searching on line best I can figure is there carpenter ants. The stacks are between my barn and house. what can I do to get rid of the and make this wood ok to burn in my home with out infesting it. thank you

I also cut up a dead Ash that had fallen it had signs of Carpenter ants I didn't know what it was at the time. I have burning the limbs and noticed this. I didn't see and ants in any of the wood I split . It safe to burn this in my house . Now that I know what it's is a lot of the ash I was planning to cut and burn shows the same holes in it.

Attachments

• IMG_20171105_141327673.jpg
    IMG_20171105_141327673.jpg
    100.7 KB · Views: 650
Poison. Seems so obvious but for some reason people get really shy about it. No reason at all not to poison your firewood and burn it like normal.

Do it quick before they infest your house!

I like the bag of flakes you can buy. You just shake it out around where you see the ants. They take it back to the hive and kill ‘em all.

Ok it's about 15 feet away currently should I move it now or can it wait until the morning or instead of moving it can I posin where it is