carpenter ants in wood stack

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
hi all im new to this. I have a decent stack near my house for burning this winter. I was moving it around and when I got to the bottom I notice little piles of saw dust. I didn't see any ants but with some searching on line best I can figure is there carpenter ants. The stacks are between my barn and house. what can I do to get rid of the and make this wood ok to burn in my home with out infesting it. thank you
NO POISON ON THE STACKS, on the dinner plates, door knobs, water bottles, or, IN THE STOVE!

If those bugs worry you that much, find other wood to bring in the house.

If you split it and dry it off the ground, the problem takes care of itself.

Fools and their health will soon be parted.

In my opinion, carpenter ants aren't that big of a deal. A Borax/sugar solution will wipe them out at the nest. They can't resist the sugar and they haul the stuff back to their nest to share with others--hopefully the queen. Terro also makes a commercial version of this that you can buy in most stores. It works well and is about as nontoxic as poisons go--at least to us. Usually the nests that ants have in splits are just satellite nests, with the main nest with the queen is usually in a larger piece of rotting wood--i.e., log or stump. The main nest is what you want to find. I just accept that bugs are part of the wood burning experience--gives the cats something to play with and helps to keep the house spiders fed :)

In the future what's the best way to cut and split dead trees with signs of Carpenter ants. And is it safe to burn this in my house