Cat--how does it work

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Joe Bruno

Jan 22, 2024
Connecticut
I know the Cat thing has been dealt with here, so my apologies if this is redundant, but yes, I have Cat questions and doubts and concerns. Here's a brief CV on my wood burning experience as it may help people more current than I understand where I am coming from.

I am a city guy, Bklyn NY, who went to the woods. I studied rock and adobe masonry out West and learned to build Rumford Fireplaces that actually worked. Back in upper NY State I moved into a pre-Civil War farm house--10+ rooms. Wood heat only. Cut and split hardwood from my 40 acre lot. We had an old cast iron cook stove (1903 Kern, still have it) and, in keeping with the state of the art of the day, I bought 2 Ashley sheet-metal stoves with cast iron tops and bottoms and automatic air controls. They kept us all alive. Then the Arab oil embargo came down and crushed us. All the farmers wanted to convert back to wood stoves. There was work for me fixing up the old chimneys, installing new ones, and new-fangled stoves started to arrive from Scandinavia. Jotul was maybe the first. Eventually, went back to NY City. Left the cows behind (pardon the pun).

Today I have a Hearthstone Heritage soapstone stove, made in 2022. I assume it is the current model. I installed it to replace the fireplace as the clay tile was cracked and I did not fancy taking it down to the ground and rebuilding through my fully renovated house. Besides, I felt it was more proper to get the most out of the wood, and Rumford, good as he was, only went so far.