Ceiling fan in adjacent room.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

krgosses

Dec 28, 2014
Vernon, NJ
Hi,

This is my first year using a wood burning insert. I have the elite 33 flush insert from fire place xtraudinair (Travis Industries). I have a couple of questions.
First, should the fan speed of the insert be on high, medium, or low. I have read various info, and I am more confused than before I researched the subject.
Second, the insert is in my living room. I have a ceiling fan in the adjacent room (the ceiling fan is only 3 feet from the doorway of the living room). What direction should the fan be in, clockwise, or counter clockwise. I read that when the ceiling fan is in the same room as the wood insert, the fan should be run in a clock wise motion on low setting (reverse-air being pulled up). However, I can't find an answer to what direction or what speed the ceiling fan should be in when it is located in an adjacent room.
I greatly appreciate any help I can receive on these topics. Thank you for your time and effort!