Changing my burning habits...seems more efficient

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

egghead2004

Feb 1, 2006
Charlton, MA
I've been burning 24/7 for a few years now with my stove in the basement heating a 2 floor 2100 SF cape. Originally I was adding 3-4 normal size logs into the coals and trying to keep the stove temp around 350-400 during the cold winter months. It would take 3-4 hours to get the first floor up to 70 in the morning. Sometimes I would need to use the oil to assist.
This year I tried a few different things, one of which is burning short hotter fires (425-450) earlier in the season, still using 3-4 normal sized logs. That seemes to work pretty well, but it still would take a couple hours to heat the house up.