Chimney liner installed wrong direction

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

tathspts

Jan 4, 2020
Montreal
I just learned that guy who did the installation have installed the chimney liner in wrong direction. Attached picture. This end was cut on the top of the roof during installation.

So much for I have been doing this for 40 years.

I called him and he says he will pass monday. I wonder if he is to take it out and reinsert it in the right direction can that potentially damage the liner?

Honestly I regret the decision of buying an insert now.

Attachments

• 20200124_105923.jpg
    20200124_105923.jpg
    165.1 KB · Views: 1,270
I just learned that guy who did the installation have installed the chimney liner in wrong direction. Attached picture. This end was cut on the top of the roof during installation.

So much for I have been doing this for 40 years.

I called him and he says he will pass monday. I wonder if he is to take it out and reinsert it in the right direction can that potentially damage the liner?

Honestly I regret the decision of buying an insert now.
What does the inside of that liner look like?

here is the link to their manual, it does say something about the lock being directional.

it does not say anything about the fact if arrow needs to follow the direction of the flue or that end that is labeled up needs to be on the top.

I want to give the installer a benefit of the doubt here, he seemed like a nice guy and at the end of the day anyone can make mistake.
Direction doesn't matter with that type of liner. It does with most other types though