Compressed Hardowood logs

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bmwloco

Jan 17, 2008
Asheville NC
G'day all...

Just cranked up the stove again today after 7 days of warm, comfortable weather. We're back to winter now, and the old Resolute is coming up to temperature now.

For the past oh, 8 years, I have been using Envi Logs after burning wood for 25 years. I ultimately got rid of my wood splitter, my chainsaw stand mute, and my old VC Resolute just hums along. Love the low ash too; cleaning out once every two weeks? Rarely. The burn to a fine dusty ash.

But then... my supplier for Envi Logs locally dried up. I bought the last load they were selling last year.

No drama though. Tractor Supply has "Red Stone" logs. 6 packs and 3 packs (but only if you order or live in an area where they are shipped).

I have better than a cord in now, all neatly stacked in the garage... with all my old BMW motorcycles and the bride's Triumph and Ducati. The Red Stone packs weigh 20lbs each, I get 6-7 hour burns out of 4 at 600F, and two packs will last through a long weekend.

You can also get great deals if you watch the Tractor Supply flyers or web sites locally. Coupons! I got my last load of a 6 pack for under $2.64. Mind you, at that price, I bought half a cord!

Time to haul two packs upstairs. Gotta keep those two Stirling Fans whirling!

Reactions: Doug MacIVER
I took all the 6 packs Rural King had left when they told me they were $2.14 each. Not sure how they came up with that, but I didn't question it.