Dauntless performance pack temp

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

WNCStove

Jan 17, 2023
WNC
We had our first fire of the season yesterday. With seasoned ash, and the stove really hot, it didn’t get the temperature on the catalyst temperature probe off the peg for hours.

This is my first year running a catalyst, is it normal to run a load of wood through it before the temperature in these dauntless stoves comes close to the catalyst operating temp range?

I know I did the probe install correctly. Is it always this time consuming to get to temp on the probe?

71849984911__24B918C2-D752-45AE-A7B5-6B518E84D943.jpeg

We had our first fire of the season yesterday. With seasoned ash, and the stove really hot, it didn’t get the temperature on the catalyst temperature probe off the peg for hours.

This is my first year running a catalyst, is it normal to run a load of wood through it before the temperature in these dauntless stoves comes close to the catalyst operating temp range?

I know I did the probe install correctly. Is it always this time consuming to get to temp on the probe?

View attachment 316445
Did you read the manual and follow the instructions? There are 4 stages listed in the manual
-4lb kindling fire. I probably go a bit bigger than 4lb but I havent weighed, Im just guessing. Takes about 20 minutes to burn down to the point that you push the left overs against the backwall of the stove.
-6lb several splits on top of the coals from step 1. Not sure of the exact timing here but guessing about an hour.