Do I need to change my mind here?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

sneefy

Burning Hunk
Feb 20, 2022
Western WI
Hello to all the stove experts here. I am not a stove expert, so I'm just wondering if I'm making the right choice here.

I'm building a new house and have pretty much decided on a Lopi Evergreen, but I'm open to changing my mind.

Reasons I find it appealing:

Non-cat (I just don't want to deal with one)
Nice looking stove. Clean lines. Nice size glass.
Tight clearances.
Nice size ash pan.
Cooktop.
Still EPA certified so qualifies for the tax credit.
Reputable manufacturer, made in the USA.
Local dealer (Energy Savers) that has a good reputation, has been around a long time and price is fair. They will do the full install. (I'll build the hearth)

Are there any known gotchas with this stove or any other reasons why anyone would recommend against it? Or are there any comparable alternatives that come more highly recommended? I know that stove recommendations can be a highly subjective thing, so looking for as objective feedback as possible. I found a couple thread here that mentioned cracks, but those are apparently an issue on the 'Evergreen I' not the Evergreen II', which I have not found what the difference is between those colloquial monikers, so I'd really like to know that.

This is going in a great room 30'x18' with 10' ceilings. Overall home is approx. 1800sq. ft. on a single level. Concrete slab with radiant, no basement. I plan on a simple hearth of pavers TBD.