Dumb moisture question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Welderman85

Feeling the Heat
Nov 1, 2017
Chesaning MI
Ok I'm very new to this. I started my first year burning this year. Most of my wood is dead standing ash and a little maple that was cut and stacked a few years ago. I only burn on weekends and was scared to stack wood in the house so I took some bigger plastic totes and put some air holes in the lid to store wood in my basement. And one in the garage but I think it makes the wood wetter in the totes in stead of letting it dry more. So my question is how many people go from the wood stack to the stove ? I have to go get some splits from the stacks and test them

Ok I'm very new to this. I started my first year burning this year. Most of my wood is dead standing ash and a little maple that was cut and stacked a few years ago. I only burn on weekends and was scared to stack wood in the house so I took some bigger plastic totes and put some air holes in the lid to store wood in my basement. And one in the garage but I think it makes the wood wetter in the totes in stead of letting it dry more. So my question is how many people go from the wood stack to the stove ? I have to go get some splits from the stacks and test them
I go from stack to storage rack in house 10’ from stove until needed

You need a lot of air flow to dry wood. Trying to dry wood in a plastic containers, even with holes, doesn't work. Stack it loose is much better. I have no wood in the house. Depending on the outside temperature, I get 2-3 wheelbarrows each day to run the downstairs stove 24/7.