Englander NC30 Doghouse Clogged?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

BigDaddyJ

Jan 25, 2019
Tennessee
Hello all,
I was hoping I might be able to benefit from the vast knowledge that you guys have. Here is my issue. I have been running an Englander NC30 for about 4 years now and it has performed flawlessly and does a great job of heating my home. That being said, recently I have been having an issue. Starting about a couple of days ago, I noticed that when starting a new fire, it is taking longer to get going and the fire itself does not seem to be responding to changes in damper setting. At first, I didn't think much of it and thought it might be some wood that I was using from a different rick. Anyway, I tried starting fires with some wood that is bone dry and never fails to light up instantly. Even with the dry wood, I struggled to get a fire started and it would never really take off like it should. This made me start thinking that it could be an oxygen issue. As an experiment, I placed a fire starter on a piece of wood directly in front of the doghouse. Regardless of damper settings or how much I have the door cracked, you can tell that the doghouse is NOT blowing out air onto the fire. The flame from the fire starter is not moving. I've ran this stove long enough to know that this is not normal. My question, can these doghouse inlets become blocked or clogged? If so, what would be the procedure in cleaning them. My stove has the pedestal base so I cannot access the inlet holes on the front bottom of the stove. Your help in trouble shooting this issue is greatly appreciated.

Jeff
Middle TN