EPA efficiency????

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

co370

Oct 11, 2009
NJ
ok.. where do i start... i am new to burning and to the site.. thanks for being patient with me.. i just installed a used Earth Stove 1003c.. my users manual states it is 72% efficient.. does this mean i am just short of the 30% tax rebate on EPA stoves of 75% or higher... or am i not understanding something... if this is the case.. is there anything to give that 3% of additional "efficiency" to get the rebate>?

thanks john

I don't think that there is anything the consumer does to effect the efficiency for eligibility. I is something that has to be stated by the manufacturer and probably verified via independent testing. Maybe some one else has a better grasp on this and will weigh in. By the time I got my boiler in ('06) and applied for my rebate it turned out to be less of a tax break than advertised because the gov't (congress) hadn't really set the actual percentages into policy.

Not that I would advocate fraud, (I'm told) you do not have to turn in any paperwork pertaining to the stove efficiency, just something you need to keep on file

It's only applicable if that exact same model is still being made and it has been approved for the credit.

wendell said:
.... and it has been approved for the credit.

And some MFG websites have a form that can be printed out IF the stove is one of the approved ones. Not all are.

Werm said:
Not that I would advocate fraud, (I'm told) you do not have to turn in any paperwork pertaining to the stove efficiency, just something you need to keep on file