Felling advice, and Wood ID

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Lcback

Feeling the Heat
Feb 21, 2016
Pennsylvania
This guy broke in half sometime in the winter. Looking to take it down for the 17/18 winter
Also not sure what it is. I'm pretty new at tree ID and I have learned I can only reliably ID black cherry, silver maple, beech, basically stuff I have already worked with. I have some close ups of a tree that looks just the same right beside it that came down and I could get too.

uploadfromtaptalk1467245669025.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1467245703816.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1467245716160.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1467245734343.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1467245742733.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1467245759610.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Sassafras . . . mitten-shaped leaves that are aromatic when bruised; bark is blocky, reddish; and wood itself is reddish/ orange, light and burns quickly but doesn't have long lasting coals.

Reactions: CTYank
Makes sense. I thought it smelled pretty. Well. It won't be fantastic. And I'm not willing to risk that snapped in half guy for sassafrass. Thanks

Sent from my LG-D850 using Tapatalk

It is do-able, but not one for an inexperienced person to start on. If in doubt, have an experienced cutter help you on this one, or pass this one up. It looks like you have plenty easier picks.
The wood isn't the greatest burning.

Jeff Jepson's two books: The Tree Climber's Companion, and To Fell a Tree A Complete Guide to Tree Felling and Woodcutting Methods is a good start.

Reactions: 7acres